CG: Korean Beef Bowl

In many ways, my desire to write about culinary geography has been one of the main reasons I have tried to learn to cook more and better (and because one can only stand so much of ramen, chips and pizza rolls).  One of my favorite recipes I have found online has been this Korean Beef Bowl recipe by Damn Delicious.  It is super quick and easy and doesn’t require many ingredients.  As is stated on the original site’s page, this recipe is meant to be a cheater’s version of Korean BBQ/bulgogi, which requires thin slices of marinated sirloin.  You can read more about Korean BBQ from a previous post of mine, “Cultural Nights 2015-16“.

Korean BBQ. Image from Google Images.

Korean BBQ. Image from Google Images.

While I mostly stick to the original recipe, I did make a few changes to my version so as to better suit my taste.  First off you’ll need rice.  Depending on how many people you plan to serve, you can make one or two cups of rice.  I prefer white rice, but I’m sure you can use brown rice if you prefer that.  Being Asian, I’ve never not had a rice cooker so I always pop my rice into that and then start cooking everything else.  If you don’t have a rice cooker you can just cook your rice on the stove top.  Just be sure to add some extra time to your cooking preparation since you should have the rice done before starting on the rest of the meal.  While the rice is cooking (rice cooker) or after you’ve cooked it and set it aside (you might have to reheat it later via microwave), you can begin the cooking the meat.

Ingredients (My Version)

1 package ground turkey

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce

2 tsp sesame oil

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp garlic powder

1 pack of green onions

Preparation

Defrost the package of ground turkey.  While that is defrosting, wash and chop up the green onions into as thick or thin slices as you desire.  Set the greens onions aside.

Cooking

Heat the olive oil in a pan.  Afterwards add the ground turkey and cook thoroughly.  Place on low heat and then get a small bowl and mix together the sugar, soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger and garlic.  Add this mixture to the ground turkey as well as the green onions.  Simmer for a couple of minutes or until the green onions are cooked enough.  Add rice.  Done!

Finished Korean Beef Bowl. Photo by Laylita Day.

Finished Korean Beef Bowl. Photo by Laylita Day.

I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I do.  It may use only a few ingredients, but they are extremely flavorful and go very well with the rice.

Leave a Reply

