CG: Blue Cheese Tuna Pasta

I have always been a bit of a picky eater.  Not such a good quality to have when you travel the world and have to try different foods all the time, such as I had to do when I lived in Japan.  Having a sneaky dad who likes to throw the foods I do not like into various dishes did not help either.

Today’s recipe will be one of my dad’s favorites and one he made himself, Blue Cheese Tuna Pasta.  I have never been much of a fan of blue cheese (despite that fact that I love blue everything else).  Nor do I enjoy bell peppers.  But as I have gotten older I like to think my sense of taste has evolved and that I can enjoy things now that I once hated.  So I decided to give my dad’s recipe another try.  The biggest difference this time would be that I was making it myself, no assistance from my dad (since he’s living in another country), and that I would get to alter the recipe a bit.  It turned out better than I expected.  But that may have been because of the alterations I made.  I’ll provide both my dad’s version and mine so that you may try out either one.

Blue Cheese. Image from Wikipedia.

Blue Cheese. Image from Wikipedia.

When it comes to eating blue cheese by itself, I just cannot do it.  The pungent taste and smell are more than I can handle.  After reading about how blue cheese is made, I am even more thoroughly disgusted by it.  But then this is just my opinion.  If you love blue cheese then you’ll love this recipe and that’s great!  I’m sure my dad will be very happy.

So how is blue cheese made?  With mold.  There are many varieties of blue cheese and it seemed to have been discovered by accident thanks to the preference for storing cheese inside caves.  Caves allowed for natural temperature and moisture control but this same environment also allowed for the production of harmless mold, which grew on the cheese.  (Harmless or not, I’d prefer not to eat moldy cheese, but that’s just me).  This mold produces blue/blue-gray veins of mold within the cheese.  Modern day production is a bit different.  Instead of naturally growing the mold in caves, a freeze-dried version of the mold (Penicillium roqueforti ) is injected into the cheese and then the cheese is needled, pierced with holes allowing air to enter and feed the mold.

Now that you have been thoroughly disgusted informed, let’s start cooking!  My version of the ingredients and cooking method will be in brackets [].

Ingredients

2  boxes spaghetti [1 box]

3 cans of tuna in water or oil [1 can]

2 cans cream of mushroom soup [1 can]

1 can of milk (use the empty cream of mushroom can) [same]

2 large onions [1 large onion]

1/2 bulb of garlic (about 6-7 cloves) [1 bulb]

1 cup blue cheese salad dressing [same]

1 each large yellow, red and orange bell pepper (don’t use green ones) [1 small of each color – no green]

4 tbsp olive oil [same]

Sliced blue cheese (add to taste) [2.5 oz]

1 can sliced mushrooms [1 small package]

1 tbsp oregano [same]

1 tsp basil [same]

2 tsp salt [same]

1 tsp celery seed [didn’t have this so I used 3 sticks of finely chopped celery instead]

1 tbsp thyme [same]

Preparation

Cook spaghetti, drain, add 1 tsp of olive oil and blend.  Set aside.

Dice bell peppers, mince garlic, dice mushrooms, open canned ingredients.

Cooking

Add olive oil to pan and heat.  Add garlic, onions and bell peppers [celery].  Cook until soft.

Add cream of mushroom soup and milk.  Blend on low heat until smooth.

Add blue cheese salad dressing. Blend.

Add tuna and mushrooms.  Stir on medium heat until smooth.

Add herbs and spices.  Blend.

Add pieces of blue cheese until it reaches desired thickness and taste.

Add salt to taste.

Mix with spaghetti.

Done!

Blue Cheese Tuna Pasta topped with fresh parsley. Photo by Laylita Day.

Blue Cheese Tuna Pasta topped with fresh parsley. Photo by Laylita Day.

If you like this recipe please let me know.  My dad would love to know too.  Happy Eating!

 

Leave a Reply

