A Geology Love Letter

There were only two things I knew for sure about myself when I started college.  I love to read and I love to write.  That is how I ended up majoring in journalism.  I wanted nothing more than to travel the world and write about it (and I still do), but then I took some geology classes and fell in love with them.  Head over heels in love.  Rocks, minerals, plate tectonics: bring it on!  But I didn’t just stumble into it by accident.  I’d already had some interest in earth sciences.  I was thinking of minoring in environmental science (after a disappointing stab as an English minor).  The geology classes were a prerequisite for the environmental minor.

A diagram showing stratigraphy.

A diagram showing stratigraphy.  Image from Google.

So I immediately changed my major to geology right?  Only if they invent a time machine.   Unfortunately the university system has rules and limits.  I was halfway through my college career at the time and geology is a extensive major to study.  It would take me another five years (and lots of money) to fulfill prerequisites let alone the required classes.  I was crushed.  Now what was I going to do?  Give up?

Yeah right.  I found the next best thing: geography.  While the two areas are quite different they are similar enough to satisfy my desperate need to study the earth and be global.  While geology is a very specific field of study, geography has many things to offer.  In fact, it may be better for me because it can cater not just to my love of the physical sciences but also to the human side: international relations, cultures, and travel.

G is for Geography.

G is for Geography.  Image from Picture Diary.

That is not to say that I gave up on geology completely.  I kept a tiny flame of hope alive, thinking I might be able to minor in geology but those pesky rules and classes-I-need-but-are-never-offered got in my way.  They took me down like a team of football players.

Thankfully geography had a backup plan for me: geomorphology, a type of physical geography.

So, in a nutshell, this blog is for sharing my love of everything geo with other geo lovers and those who want to travel and learn about new things, such as different cultures.

I may not be a GeoMaster yet, but someday I will be.  The world is out there waiting.  I’m ready for it.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

